Embedding Longer Texts

The documentation for embedding says " Note that the maximum length of input text for our embedding models is 2048 tokens (approximately equivalent to around 2-3 pages of text). You should verify that your inputs do not exceed this limit before making a request."

What if I have 200 pages of document? Can I still use embedding?

Thanks for your help.

You need to break up your text into 2048 or less token chunks. Each chunk gets its own embedding. Cache the embeddings, and use them as you might.

1 Like

Thanks. So when I send a query, it will look through all the embeddings and find the best one and based on that answer? Sorry I am a noob, so may be asking a dumb question.

Hi-
So lets say I have 200 pages of text and we know roughly 2048 tokens = 2 pages. So you are recommending that we have 100 different documents each 2 pages long (<2048 tokens) and then supply these 100 documents to OpenAI for creating embeddings?

More specifically as I look at openai-python/Obtain_dataset.ipynb at main · openai/openai-python · GitHub, should I run these 100 files one at a time and save all of the embeddings (by appending) in the same file [output/embedded_1k_reviews.csv’] or for each of the file i run, I create a new file?

I am facing a similar problem in my cognitive architecture, where I will have to search an arbitrarily large set of files for particular memories. You can see how I do this in my “let’s build an ACOG” video series.

The direct answer to your question is that I store all the embeddings as a local pickle file, or just in memory. I call it an indexed memory in this file: ACOG_Experiment01/inner_loop.py at main · daveshap/ACOG_Experiment01 · GitHub

Since numpy is somewhat optimized (certainly good enough for our use) it is plenty fast enough to search through a few hundred log files very quickly.