Computation possibility and handling complex requests in a dashboard context

Hi,

I’m a computer science student and I’m doing my thesis on OpenAI. The goal is to explore the use of OpenAI services in order to empower the utility of some kind of environmental data in dashboards. I don’t have an AI background and would need some help.

I’m restricting myself to the GPT-3.5 model, as the last GPT-4 model preview was not yet available when I started this project.

The main data source comes from a MySQL DB that is used for a website and many smartphone Apps. Since the DB schema is relatively complex, there are a lot of DB API request methods.

Until now I did some test with the OpenAI API just by modifying the message content value. I didn’t manage to compute an average value from a list (but working with a list with 7 entries). But other tests performed better (search for a word, determine which function is adapted…). A request example can be found below, just in case.

example of computation test request
{

“messages”: [
{
“role”: “user”,
“content”: “You are an expert data analyst with a focus on precision. Your task is to calculate the average value of diameters in a dataset by using the mean() method of the python statistics module.
You will get an user request string and a JSON containing data to analyse.
Your response contains only a JSON according to the following format:
{
“average”: otherId2,
}
Consider the following dataset structure:
[
{
“id”: 3676,
“diameter”: 13.5,

},

]
calculate the precise average value of the diameters in the given dataset, ensuring a meticulous analysis.”
}
],
“model”: “gpt-3.5-turbo-16k”,
“temperature”: 1,
“top_p”: 1
}

But now I’m a bit stuck: