The most recent reports bumping this year-old topic discuss a new symptom from the prior purpose of this forum topic:
- referring back to obsolete information, or topic confusion.
Likely issue:
- An AI that is fed cross-session “memory” about you that it previously stored
- An AI that is fed some more information retrieved from searching old chats
Solution:
Disable the newer memory “features” that confuse an AI.
- In ChatGPT, pick your account menu, then “
Settings” - Under “
Personalization”, disable the toggle of both memories
While memory is still enabled, you can “manage memories” and see what the AI has been storing about you with its memory tool, and also delete those.
Result
An AI model that remains focused on the topic of the chat session, using only your immediate conversation.
