Can GPT3 do some classification base on the content of the sentences?

Hi, I am pretty new to GPT 3. I am working on a project to try to classify thousands of sraped review data into about 150 categories based on their meaning. Can GPT3 help me to achieve that?

2 Likes

Hi @penggong6688,

In short, yes. GPT-3 can do that. Here the classification guide: https://beta.openai.com/docs/guides/classifications

The Classifications endpoint (/classifications) provides the ability to leverage a labeled set of examples without fine-tuning and can be used for any text-to-label task. By avoiding fine-tuning, it eliminates the need for hyper-parameter tuning. The endpoint serves as an “autoML” solution that is easy to configure, and adapt to changing label schema. Up to 200 labeled examples or a pre-uploaded file can be provided at query time.

1 Like

Agreed. I don’t know much about embeddings, since I haven’t used it. Going to try it myself.

1 Like

Thank you so much for your reply! sps!!
So in the endpoint AutoML solution, I can upload 200 labeled examples to train the model? and then us the model in my own dataset? In my data, I have about multiple million records would like to classify in those probably 150 classes. Another question, those 150 classes is what we think those multiple million records belong to, is OpenAI GPT-3 can do some unsupervised machine learning to tell us besides those 150 classes whether there are other topics we can cluster? I tried myself to use the embedding and K-means but not that meaningful.

1 Like

Thank you so much m-a.schenk !

What I am trying to do is to classify my multi-million records and find some new classes if they are not in those 150 classes. Do you mean the new function embedding in OpenAI will be available in a few days?

2 Likes