Bad formats for semantic search of RAG? Implementing internal chatbot for troubleshooting an SDK

Hello,

I am a software developer and the company I work for have “Tech exploration days” where we are free to try any new tech that we think could help the company. I had the idea of implementing a chatbot the could help my team with support tickets regarding our SDK.

When customer experience bugs or have trouble integrating the SDK, they can access our support by creating a ticket which someone in my team receives and provides help through.

I want the chatbot helping out with new incoming support tickets. To do so, I can provide all of the resolved tickets, which are thousands. I want the chatbot to find relevant tickets where similar problems have been resolved and provide solutions and suggestions from these resolved tickets.

The relevant data from these tickets is in conversation format, between someone from the support team and some customer and it is containing a lot of irrelevant and misleading information.

I have done some experimenting with ChatGPT-4o and noticed that it is way to much data for it to handle, therefor I was thinking of implementing a RAG so that the task are divided into subtasks, hopefully improving the result.

My main concern is that the format of the data wont make it possible for the semantic search of the RAG to retrieve the relevant chunks. Also, I am worried conversations will be split up into different chunks which would be quite bad. The conversations can range from 5-80 responses back and forth. I am not really sure how to face these problems, are there work around? Tips on implementation, data formatting, RAGs etc. are all welcome as well as tips regarding the whole project.

Thanks in advance!

Hi and welcome to the developer forum!