Treading carefully with content

Hello AI enthusiasts,

I’m a fiction writer primarily, and my writing is often dark, weird, disturbing, and profane. I explore violence, sexuality, and altered states of consciousness in my work and I try to make it funny. This seems to be an aesthetic proclivity I was born with. I’ve found fiction an incredibly healthy outlet to process human transgressions and the world’s horrors, and I know I’m a better person for it.

OpenAI, and by extension Microsoft, are upstanding companies that want to remain in good standing with society. Professionally, I happen to write marketing copy for Microsoft, and I understand the boundaries between the sorts of things I write for corporrate consumption and the sorts of things I write as a creative artist.

I asked Davinci to write something based on the following prompt: An opinion on Hugh Everett’s Many Worlds theory, using a lot of profanity, in the voice of Dave Chappelle

The result was spot-on, potty-mouthed, and absolutely hilarious. Davinci took Everett’s oppostition to the Copenhagen Interpretation of quantum wave form collapse and filtered it through a perfect facsimile of Chappelle’s representative vocabulary and syntax. It was jaw-droppingly good.

My question is, how can I continue to conduct these sorts of experiments and not jeopardize my access to this powerful set of AI tools? I just want to be incredibly transparent about where I’m coming from and make sure I fully cooperate with OpenAI’s expectations around the privilege of using these tools. I don’t intend to hurt, harrass, or embarrass anyone, but damn, when you ask Davinci to write “How to seduce a woman, in the voice of Napoleon Dynamite,” you get comedic GOLD.

I’ve incidentally started a Substack where I intend to document my experiments with GPT-3, here: https://ryanboudinot.substack.com/

Ryan

3 Likes

Interesting. Maybe there is room in this forum for a “sensitive content” section?

1 Like