How to create prompts for generating item ideas, character backgrounds, and NPCs for TTRPG

hello! i am a narrative game designer looking for help with wrapping my head around making gpt-3 prompts for my purposes listed in the title. would anyone be willing to help me out? thanks!

1 Like

thanks for the welcome! i found the get started section and things are starting to make more sense-- its much more intuitive than i though it would be.

1 Like

Item idea

Item: Harlequin Crest is a unique Shako

Besides its bonuses to skills, life, mana and damage reduction, Harlequin Crest (often referred to by the community as simply "Shako") also bestows a very high boost to magic find, which can be boosted by socketing the helmet with an Ist Rune or Perfect Topaz.

Harlequin Crest is also fairly cheap to acquire via trade because none of the modifiers (besides base defense) are randomized. It is a good all-around helmet for nearly any class.

###

Item:

Character background

Character background: The Paladin is a battle-ready warrior for whom faith is a shield, and fights for what he believes to be right. His steadfastness gives him powers to bestow blessings to his friends and wreak cruel justice on foes. There are those who call the Paladin an overwrought zealot, but others recognize in him the strength and goodness of the Light.

###

Character background:

NPC

NPC: Cain was born in the year 1202 to Aderes Cain and a tanner as his father. His mother forbid him from taking his father's surname. As a child growing up in Tristram, Cain grew up on stories of the Horadrim, and considered himself proud to be "the last Horadrim." He imagined himself traveling the world, fighting evil wherever it dwelt. He similarly read tales of Anu, Tathamet, the Mage Clan Wars, and the Sin War. However, he regarded them as just being stories. When not listening to stories, he was out playing fetch in the fields outside Tristram, or stealing eggs from Grosgrove's henhouse.

###

NPC:

Notes