# How do we backup the custom GPTs

**URL:** <https://community.openai.com/t/how-do-we-backup-the-custom-gpts/605372>\
**Category:** Community\
**Tags:** chatgpt\
**Created:** [January 29, 2024, 1:11am UTC](https://community.openai.com/t/how-do-we-backup-the-custom-gpts/605372 "2024-01-29T01:11:34Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 5\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![onkisonk](https://sea2.discourse-cdn.com/openai1/user_avatar/community.openai.com/onkisonk/32/448527_2.png) [@onkisonk](https://community.openai.com/u/onkisonk)\
**Post date:** [January 29, 2024, 1:11am UTC](https://community.openai.com/t/how-do-we-backup-the-custom-gpts/605372/1 "2024-01-29T01:11:34Z")

</div>

HOW CAN I BACKUP MY CUSTOM GPT MODELS?

Okay, for example, I created a custom ChatGPT namely “The DumbGPT”, however, the account that associated with the “DumbGPT” has been lost and will be unsubscribe from the Pro version a few days later. So my question is, if I create a new account with Pro subscription, do I have the ability to continue use the"DumbGPT" on the store anymore, because, I have uploaded the “DumbGPT” to the public and it could be access by everyone.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![lachie1](https://sea2.discourse-cdn.com/openai1/user_avatar/community.openai.com/lachie1/32/123135_2.png) [@lachie1](https://community.openai.com/u/lachie1)\
**Post date:** [January 29, 2024, 1:22am UTC](https://community.openai.com/t/how-do-we-backup-the-custom-gpts/605372/2 "2024-01-29T01:22:55Z")

</div>

As far as I am aware it is not possible. I personally would just save the prompt in a text file.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![jeff12](https://sea2.discourse-cdn.com/openai1/user_avatar/community.openai.com/jeff12/32/448470_2.png) [@jeff12](https://community.openai.com/u/jeff12)\
**Post date:** [January 29, 2024, 3:14am UTC](https://community.openai.com/t/how-do-we-backup-the-custom-gpts/605372/3 "2024-01-29T03:14:47Z")

</div>

No, according to a **forum post** ([What happens to your custom GPT (that you made) if you stop paying for ChatGPT Plus? And other questions](https://community.openai.com/t/583422)) from OpenAI’s community, if you stop paying for your ChatGPT Plus subscription, the custom GPTs that you made will be deactivated. It’s not specified whether they are deleted, but they will be unshared. Furthermore, you will no longer share in any revenue generated by these GPTs.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![lachie1](https://sea2.discourse-cdn.com/openai1/user_avatar/community.openai.com/lachie1/32/123135_2.png) [@lachie1](https://community.openai.com/u/lachie1)\
**Post date:** [January 29, 2024, 3:17am UTC](https://community.openai.com/t/how-do-we-backup-the-custom-gpts/605372/4 "2024-01-29T03:17:34Z")

</div>

They aren’t deleted when you discontinue paying for a Plus account, just delisted. Enabling your Plus account reenables them.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![jeff12](https://sea2.discourse-cdn.com/openai1/user_avatar/community.openai.com/jeff12/32/448470_2.png) [@jeff12](https://community.openai.com/u/jeff12)\
**Post date:** [January 29, 2024, 3:24am UTC](https://community.openai.com/t/how-do-we-backup-the-custom-gpts/605372/5 "2024-01-29T03:24:50Z")

</div>

For how long will they be kept? Indefinitely?
