AI Teacher trained for bricklaying

Hi there,
My name is Peter and I’m a sysadmin for a VO School (like 9-12th grade) in the netherlands. OpenAI (or rather chatgpt) got the attention of one of our schools.

They have the idea to use it for educational purposes. The idea (not limited by being informed) is:

• Create a virtual teacher
  • Train this teacher with course specific data. Things like bricklaying theory, whatever.
  • Fine tune this virtual teacher: let it stay on topic, be friendly and so on.
  • Letting pupils chat with that virtual teacher through something like Teams (Teams is allready an adapted tool in our classrooms)

They way I see this that it would involve creating assistants and after that communication to these assistant with the help of something like the MS bot framework.

Not being equiped with enough technical IT skills they asked us to help them with thist.
My background does include scripting (Perl, Node) but openAI is new to me.

The question I would like to put to you is: Is this at all possible. How should I go about this?

regards

Peter

Yes, very much.

I would start by first playing around with ChatGPT-GPTs found in ChatGPT with Plus membership. You may find that the default model with some instructions is sufficient to act as a knowledgeable teacher of bricklaying. This a no-code solution that provides the highest performing model & sufficient functionalities for testing.

You can also attach documents to your ChatGPT-GPT to ensure that it refers to them.

Once you have a good model working you can consider transferring it over to the Assistants API for more control, and to take it outside of the ChatGPT ecosystem

This is redundant. LLMs are typically trained to be friendly, and aim to stay on topic. Trying to fine-tune this behavior would only be detrimental. If the user wants to make it go off topic, it will. You would be better off using a separate “moderation” model to ensure that the topic is kept on track